Record winner THW Kiel storms to the Cup Triangle

Eleven titles for the zebras, a shining farewell to Alfred Gislason: The THW Kiel has won the DHB Cup and thus provided its outgoing coach with a perfect departure from the trophy stage. The record winner won the SC Magdeburg in a touching final with 28:24 (14:13) and celebrated his first title win since Cup victory 2017.

Niklas Landin advanced goalkeeper to Matchwinner with several parades and four held seven meters. The best pitchers of the Kieler s who had defeated the foxes in the semi-finals the day before with 24:22 were Harald Reinkind with six and National Player Hendrik Pekeler with five hits.

“This was a beautiful game for us,” said Landin in in the “ARD”, the title has a lot of meaning for “this young team”. A farewell gift for Gislason was not the victory: “We still have a lot to do this season.”

Pages of the Magdeburger, who had to put their first defeat in the Cup Final in this calendar year, met Michael Damgaard most frequently (6 goals) as already the day before the Danes. After the 30:29 against the TSV Hannover-Burgdorf the day before, the SCM had hoped for its third trophy triumph after 1996 and 2016.

Gislason is happy about “Bonus”

For Gislason, who will take a break in the summer after eleven years at the THW and then wants to take over a national team, It was the sixth and last time to participate in the prestigious final tournament in Hamburg with Kiel that won the sixth cup. The Icelander and his team are still in the championship (currently Table Two) and the EHF Cup.

“It would be great if we gave Gislason the title. He simply deserved it,”THW gamer Domagoj Duvnjak had announced before the game. Gislason himself said before the duel against his former club: “It would be a bonus to take the pot again.”

Exciting cup light in a hot atmosphere

The Kielers were engaged from the beginning. While Gislason showed full body effort on the sidelines, his players dominated the event in the early stages. Thanks to World Champion Landin’s parades, the THW kept its opponent in check and quickly led with 7:5.

But in the following, Magdeburg showed why it had won both games against the Kielers in the league and thus added four of the previous six minus points. With ball wins in the now increasing defense, the SCM entered its feared pace game, The previous trophy winners in the overview

THW Kiel dominated 13.200 spectators in the Barclaycard arena in Hamburg, which had been sold out for months in a hot atmosphere.

THW Kiel After the restart

The THW led to the break, and also in the second section the North Germans dominated at first. SCM coach Bennet Wiegert, who had won the Champions League together as a player under Gislason in the joint Magdeburg times of the year 2002, had to watch, After 40 minutes his team was back with four gates.

Five Kieler gates in a row divided the zebras into a preliminary decision.

SC Magdeburg – THW Kiel 24:28 (13:14)
Magdeburg: Green, Quenstedt – Damgaard (6), Musche (4/1), Musa (3), Petersson (3/2), Weber (2), Lagergren (2), Chrapkowski (1), Bezjak (1), Mertens (1), O’Sullivan (1)
Kiel: N. Landin, Wolf – Reinkind (6), Pekeler (5), Ekberg (4/1), Dahmke (3), Bylik (3), Duvnjak (2), Zarabec (2), Wiencek (1), Nilsson (1), M. Landin (1).

Eromanga Sensei
NieR: Automata
Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid
One Punch Man